School and YouTube

Hi.

It’s currently 3:30 AM and I just decided to make a post about stuff.

Now I was originally going to make this a video on my channel as a part of a new series called “Chill Chat”, kinda like the phrase “chit chat” but chillin’, ya know. alright i’ll stop.

While editing the video, I felt like my commentary was very unprepared so I decided a blog post would suit my thoughts better.

Enough rambling though, let’s get on with the real talk.

School for me starts in less than a week, same with some, some already started and some don’t start for weeks. As you might of seen, I posted quite a lot in the past few weeks on my YouTube channel, which that doesn’t happen at all, even in the past summers. I’m not sure what got into me. Obviously, it was summer. I have plenty of free time. Another reason was probably finding that Regeria Hope game, record it and then got encouraged to record more.

But now, I’m not sure what will happen. I could just go on another hiatus just because of school. And if you’ve seen young YouTubers make a video saying, “sorry I haven’t posted in a while, i’ve been busy with school, you know”. I’m not disagreeing here. Obviously, schoolwork, studying, after school activities and if you’re about to be 16, like me, you now are introduced to jobs, like what adults have. For me and many other people, school is much more important. I’m just a sophomore in high school and I don’t get paid for making videos so it’s really not a great priority for me.

But, let’s say you have a passion for being a YouTuber while still being in school. If you want to drop out of school because balancing making videos and school is difficult, that’s your decision, no one is stopping you.

But, here are some of my ideas that are possibly helpful or I’m just saying nonsense if you want to make YouTube videos while in school. You’ll be the judge.

  1. Become a vlogger. You know, like Roman Atwood, Shay Carl, all those guys. You’re basically connecting your life with YouTube. It’s like a 2-for-1 deal right there. Just pick up a camera, film yourself doing interesting things, no hardcore editing and there’s a video. Like I said earlier, if you have after school activities, you can always film that into a montage of some sort for a pretty cool video. Schedules for vloggers are different depending on the time. Some upload every day, some upload only when they do something that’s worth recording. It’s really up to you.
  2. For gaming-based YouTubers, why not give streaming a try? There are sites such as Twitch, which is the most popular streaming service, and also YouTube Gaming. But it’s a plus if you stream on YouTube, you can stream your gameplay live, which means you can interact with people in real time rather than replying to them in the comments minutes later. Another good thing about streaming on YT, after you’re done streaming, the VOD (video on demand) will be automatically uploaded to your channel for people who missed the stream. Plus, no editing, just be entertaining! The cons are you have to have a pretty decent computer and internet to stream well, plus different people have different ways of wanting to make content such as only editing together funny moments rather than a full gameplay. (Also streaming doesn’t have to only apply to gamers, it’s just that streaming is very popular with gaming)
  3. If all else fails, just wait. If school is important to you, just don’t intersect it with making videos. Videos take time to make, and if you want to put all your effort into it, I highly recommend that you just wait for the summer, or winter/spring break, where you (I assume) have all the time in the world to make great videos. No video is better than a poorly made, boring video, is what I have to say.

Now that I realize, these are from personal happenings, so I guess just take it from a YouTuber whose been here for a long time and has been through a lot on that great site.

Last words, like many other YouTubers say when giving advice on being a YouTuber, be yourself, do what makes you happy. If you want to focus on making videos rather than doing your homework, that’s your decision. These ideas were just suggestions. Everyone has a different schedule with which they can deal with while being a YouTuber.

It’s 4:21 AM and I’m probably going to binge-watch Sherlock now. Thanks for reading this and I hope it helped.

-Al

Leave a Reply

