The Problem with Love Live! Sunshine!!

So, this thought was in my head and I wasn’t sure if I wanted to post it but here I am now.

I was watching Love Live Sunshine, which you can see the full Currently Watching post about it here, and I feel like my interest kind of started to drift away.

I read a post on the Love Live subreddit, topic was about how people would react if a µ’s member makes a small appearance in Sunshine, but the specific comment I read made a very good point.

To quote the redditor:

ll

What this person is saying basically says that Sunshine’s large amount of popularity is mainly because of all the µ’s references Sunrise (the company who created this series) makes. If they don’t mention µ’s at least a few times in a certain amount of time, people wouldn’t really watch the show anymore. This is what is keeping Sunshine and Aqours from being independent and having their own style of being a school idol group.

While it’s nice that µ’s is being brought back by references such as Aqours practicing at the rooftop and running up the same stairs as the OG group did, I feel like this is just a show about a µ’s fan club at this point.

At the beginning of the show, I was expecting this story to be mostly away from the original series. I would’ve thought that Sunshine would have a new idol group who did things their way, without a lot or even no influence from µ’s.

But, that’s what didn’t happen. Almost every episode of the show, they mention µ’s in some way, shape or form.

So, yeah. Don’t get me wrong, this show is still pretty good and I will continue watching until the end. There are times where I am really interested in it and times where a funny moment happens, but this massive amount of influence from µ’s, and them mostly not trying to do their own thing, it just doesn’t make me interested in general because of the lack of originality. I know that this is Sunrise just wanting to keep fans interested and wanting to gain more money but, it seems like it affects both the experienced fans and the newcomers in a bad way. I would seriously just rewatch School Idol Project if I wanted to see Honoka and the gang again.

Now, I don’t know if the show will continue on like this since I’m only 6 episodes in, but until something changes, that’s how I feel.

-al

 

Leave a Reply

