Top 15 Favorite Songs in the Anime I’ve Seen

Welcome to another top # list on the Alfredeo Blog! Today, we’re going back to the musical aspect of this segment and talking about my top 15 favorite songs in all of the anime I’ve watched so far. To make this list fair, I made one rule to balance out this list. And that rule is one song per series. I cannot have two songs from, let’s say, the Love Live! series or else it’ll become a one sided affair basically.

I also have to say this: this is opinion based!!! Please do not bash on my song selections, we all have our different opinions and if you don’t see a song in the right place or you don’t see your favorite song on this list, I recommend you don’t insult me or make fun of my choices. Instead, please give your opinion in an organized and respectful fashion in the comments section down below and I would be very glad to read it. Thanks!


15. “Tank!” by The Seatbelts (Cowboy Bebop)

I really like this opening for this show. It reminds me of a spy movie and it has a very mysterious tone to it. There is little to no lyrics in this song, which I feel like it’s a good thing because singing might ruin the song. I haven’t finished watching this show, but this popular opening is definitely one of my favorite’s to listen to.


14. “Kimi ja Nakya Dame Mitai” by Masayoshi Ooishi (Gekkan Shoujo Nozaki-kun OP)

Masayoshi Ooishi has an extremely nice voice. Both the singing and the guitar playing is by him and he did a really good job making this track. Also, it sounds like it could be in the funk genre almost. It’s also catchy as hell.

If you want to see him play a live acoustic version of this song, here ya go:


13. “COOLISH WALK” by Kana Asumi, Saki Fujita and Eri Kitamura (Working’!! OP)

This song is just… wow. Really upbeat and catchy, it’s the perfect opening for this kind of show, an upbeat and crazy group of people running a restaurant. It also gave me chills for a second just by how these three sing.


12. “Kimi ni Todoke” by Tanizawa Tomofumi (Kimi ni Todoke OP)

Really chillax opening song. It’s a beautiful track to listen to and it fits well with this show and even the main character, Sawako, since she’s so innocent and pure. The opening video is also pretty cute and funny to watch.


11. “Promise” by Asami Imai (THE IDOLM@STER)

SO BEAUTIFUL IT GAVE ME CHILLS IN THE FIRST SECOND. One of the idols in this show, Chihaya, has an amazing voice and in the show, she expresses how she doesn’t care about anything else but singing. And wow, does she have an amazing voice. This song in particular is also pretty emotional if you have experienced this part of the show, it almost makes me tear up how everyone supported Chihaya by singing with her. I won’t go into details but watch it if you’re curious.


10. “Sorairo Days” by Shoko Nakagawa (Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann OP)

EPIC AS HELL.

(honestly this should’ve been higher but I’m too lazy to rearrange everything now lol)


9. “Imakoko” by Nao Touyama (Tsuki ga Kirei OP)

Oh you know I had to include this one.

This is a show airing right now in the Spring 2017 anime season, and man, this song is just nice to listen to. It fits well with this show.


8. “Connect” by ClariS (Madoka Magica OP)

The musical duo of ClariS has had a lot of their songs featured in anime. Such as in NisekoiNisemonogatari and even the recently popular Eromanga-sensei. While the opening for Nisekoi is really good, the opening that they did for Madoka Magica takes the cake for me.

Very mellow at the beginning, then it gets up and active in the chorus and such. It’s a nice song to listen to and it fits well with the show, it’s sad but it’s a kind of hype song at the same time.


7. “Aishiteru Banzai” by µ’s (Love Live!)

A DAMN GOOD SONG. My hands down favorite song in the original Love Live! series. When I first heard Maki, one of the idols, sing it in the music room on the piano, that gave me chills everywhere, it was so good. If you have experienced this show, you would know that this song can also get you teary-eyed just because of when it was sung towards the end of the show. OH MAN THE FEELS

  • See my top 15 Love Live songs here!

6. “Tenshi ni Fureta yo!” by Houkago Tea Time (K-On!!)

This makes me tear up every time I hear it. I won’t sugar coat it.

The last song that the upperclassmen sing for their dear friend, Azusa, is just an amazing ending for the main series. Man, when everybody gets a part to sing and the way they flow into the beautiful chorus. I’m starting to tear up now lol. Also, the lyrics are just bittersweet. Here take a look:

The platform at the station, the path by the riverside
Even if we’re apart, we can look up at the same sky
And sing in unison!

oh man i’m actually crying right now


5. “Kimi no Mama de” by azusa (Amagami SS Plus OP)

If you ask me who my favorite Japanese singer/artist is, I would say azusa in a heartbeat. Ever since I first heard her music in my favorite romance comedy, Amagami SS, her music and beautiful singing just makes her my favorite to listen to. Along with this one, all of her other songs that were featured in this anime, they are all amazing to hear like “i Love” and “Check my soul”, it just fits this anime very, very, very well.

  • See my review on Amagami SS here!

4. “Sparkle” by RADWIMPS (Your Name.)

From the hit Japanese anime film that broke records, this song is one of the more emotional tracks in Kimi no Na wa. It’s definitely a beautiful song and everything comes together really well, the singing, the background music, the solos in between verses. This is a really good song.

  • See my review on Your Name here!

3. “The Palm of a Tiny Hand” by riya (Clannad: After Story)

I would be insane if I didn’t include this song.

Shown at the end of the Clannad series, this song is just pure beautiful. riya’s singing and the amazing music in the background makes this song really emotional yet happy. Just listen to it, it explains itself.

  • See why Clannad is my favorite anime series of all time here!

2. “Rain” by Motohiro Hata (Garden of Words)

Yes, I think that this song is better than a song from Your Name. Okay?

A beautiful ending song for a beautiful movie. If you didn’t know, The Garden of Words is my favorite Makoto Shinkai film and ever since I watched it, this song has been one of my favorites and always stuck in my head. Motohiro Hata’s voice is great and the nice music to accompany his singing is superb.

  • See why I think The Garden of Words is a perfect movie here!

Before we get to my first choice, let’s have some honorable mentions:

  • “Secret Base” from AnoHana
  • “One More Time, One More Chance” from 5 Centimeters Per Second
  • “Mijuku DREAMER” from Love Live! Sunshine!!
  • “Koi wa Mizuiro” from Amagami SS
  • “High High High” from Usagi Drop
  • “Kimi no Shiranai Monogatari” from Bakemonogatari
  • “Stroll” from My Neighbor Totoro
  • “Komm Susser Tod” from The End of Evangelion
  • “Blumenkranz” from Kill la Kill
  • Flyers” from Death Parade (now that I look at it, it should’ve been one of the songs on this list… damn lol)

1. “Koi wo Shita no wa” by Aiko (Koe no Katachi)

For the past two days, I’ve had this song on repeat whenever I want to listen to music. That’s how good I think this song is. From the drama, Koe no Katachi (my review on it), this is an amazing ending for that kind of movie. Aiko’s singing is extremely beautiful and it’s like an angel is singing to me. I might be exaggerating here, but I really do think that this song is my absolute favorite song in anime so far.

Also, watch that movie!!!!!


Thanks for reading today’s post! What’s your favorite songs from all anime? Leave some in the comments down below!

-al

Leave a Reply

