“The Entertainer Blogger” Award Nomination

I’m still fairly new to blogging and I’m not used to all these “tag, you’re it” posts people do with each other. But, once I was actually approached and nominated to do this sort of thing, I thought it would be fun to do and a nice learning experience.

Entertainer Blogger Award

The rules:

  1. Thank the person who nominated you and provide a link to their blog.
  2. Add these rules to your post.
  3. Answer all the questions below.
  4. Display the award picture in your post.
  5. Nominate 12 other bloggers who are funny, inspiring and most important of all entertaining!

The questions:

  1. Why did you blog in the first place?
  2. What is your favorite book?
  3. What do you dislike the most?
  4. What is your favorite food at the mall?
  5. What is your favorite past time?

The questions and rules look alright to me, except for maybe one of the rules.

Before we start, I want to thank my buddy, Shokamoka, from Shokamoka’s Blog of Wonders, for handing me this award and thinking that I’m interesting enough to earn this lol. What they like to talk about and the different topics they discuss is what makes me keep going back to their blog since it seems like we like a lot of the same things related to anime such as the music, seiyuu, slice-of-life shows and many more. And like they said in their award post, we tend to randomly inspire each other to create interesting blog posts. I appreciate it!


Why did you blog in the first place?

Many of you probably don’t know this because I barely mention it but I have actually been creating YouTube videos for almost nine years. They aren’t anything special, just video game gameplays and such, but I’d like to think I put a lot of work into every single one. Currently, I haven’t really uploaded anything for a while for reasons such as school, laziness and me focusing more on this blog.

FireShot Capture 22 - Alfredeo - YouTube - https___www.youtube.com_channel_UCl3IfhXFuqpNpCgRY1DaArA

So, while I was on a video making spree last summer, I had a website I made on Wix.com that I never touched. Wix, one of the popular website makers out there, was kind of more for business types of websites and I didn’t have a place to really share my thoughts. Later on, I deleted that site and went straight to WordPress because my main purpose for a website was to just share my videos and also discuss different topics, and WordPress made it WAY easier for me.

During the months of August through November, I just started sharing my videos on here, talking about my life and what was going on at the time, and even creating an advice post about how to be a YouTuber while still attending school, since I was experiencing that.

But, when December rolled around, everything changed for this blog.

It was probably a week before Christmas and while my brother was watching some anime, I asked him if there were any Christmas-related anime since it was that time of year. Then, he showed me this:

Image result for amagami ss

Amagami SS, the romance comedy I always gush about on this blog. After watching that anime and thinking it was so good, I randomly decided to review it. Before that, I never, ever reviewed anything media related. Maybe short, sarcastic reviews for games on Steam, but not on the same level of what I wrote on December 20th, 2016.

I really did not expect my blog to take this sharp of a turn. Here I was, just someone who makes dumb gaming videos on YouTube, suddenly now into reviewing different anime. I was basically sucked in another world.

And pretty much after watching Amagami, I got back into watching anime in general. Before that, I wasn’t an avid watcher. I watched stuff like K-On!Gurren Lagann and some shows I dropped and never finished. But present day, I’m now keeping up with the seasonal anime.

I guess why I started doing anime reviews and posts related to anime is that anime interested me so much and put a lot of thoughts on my mind, so I decided to share those thoughts and hopefully interest you guys. With some struggles as only noticing “tags” months after starting and having writer’s block, it’s been a fun experience so far and I hope to keep going for a little longer with my fellow anime bloggers. 😀


What’s your favorite book?

Okay, this section will be much shorter than the last, haha. As I said on my last post about visual novels, I’m not a reader at all. A part of me wants to be, but the laziness and lack of interest overthrows the urge to grab a book.

I guess the most memorable book to me was Catcher in the Rye (1951), by J.D. Salinger. It’s a quite popular book among adults, younger or older, and it definitely made me see the aspects of innocence, depression, trying to find an identity for yourself and realizing change. Overall, it made me think a lot about people and life. Plus, it was interesting to read.

Image result for catcher in the rye

This book is memorable in another way, it was what inspired Mark David Chapman to assassinate John Lennon, famously known as being a member of The Beatles. Except, I don’t think it’s been fully proven that this book was why he killed John Lennon. We may never know…


What do you dislike the most?

I don’t if it’s just me or not, but I’ll try to ignore the vagueness of this question. After reading some posts discussing the same question, it seems like they tend to talk about what they don’t like in life, so I’ll go with that.

I despise people putting other people down. Even if it’s suppose to be a joke, there is still the risk of hurting their feelings. I’ve had this experience where certain friends, they tend to make fun of each other a lot, liked to target me. In my mind, I knew that they were messing around and were not serious, but once it got to a level that I got fed up with it, I didn’t want to deal with them anymore. So, we kind of drifted apart over the years, which might’ve been the best decision.

But, I don’t want to leave out the part of bullying that is meant to hurt someone. The scene of that just makes me want to punch a wall or something on the same level. It’s hard to watch, and most people in society like to be bystanders. I’ll admit that I’m one of them, but I hope, hope, hope in the future, I can do something about it when the time comes. In my school, bullying is VERY rare but I know that other people are dealing with being called horrible names and even suffering from physical violence. I hate that.

Related image


What is your favorite food at the mall?

What a very specific question.

Whenever I go to the mall, I usually go to ones that are in San Francisco, California. The San Francisco Bay Area is a very large place that has so many options for food, so there isn’t really any point of eating at a mall.

But, I guess if I wasn’t complaining about this question a lot, I would say my favorite thing to eat if I go to a certain mall that has it is, Sorabol Korean BBQ.

Image result for sorabol

This place is really good. Usually, when you go to Korean restaurants, they give you the large tray of different small things to eat, and then you get to the main course.

With Sorabol, it’s suppose to be on the same level as Chipotle or Panda Express. I’m not talking about quality, but quickness. The food is actually really good and has authentic Korean cuisine for a fast food restaurant.

Image result for sorabol korean bbq


What’s your favorite past time?

Ah, this one might be long but I’ll try not to ramble too much. I guess you guys will be learning more about me here:

On my free time, I do various things.

I like to play video games. Games are fun, whether it be playing with friends, single player games, online games, whatever. I just pick a game from my Steam library and usually stay there for a while. Now that visual novels are getting to me, I assume I’ll be playing those a lot now.

Image result for keima video game
I have no idea how Keima’s PFP doesn’t get confiscated.

I am very into sports. Believe it or not. I absolutely enjoy watching baseball and basketball. You might be thinking, “why baseball, isn’t that really slow?”. Yes, it is a slow game to watch, but once you learn all the things about baseball such as the different plays and basic terms, it’s actually pretty interesting sport to watch. Other than baseball, basketball is on another level. The intense and competitive atmosphere and the fast paced sport is what makes me keep watching. Not only the playing, but the players fascinate me too. I mean, I watched most of the NBA Draft where college players were getting to finally be in the professional league.

But adding to watching sports, I tend to play some sports. Not on a team or anything, but I like to compete with my friends in basketball or play catch with a baseball. It’s fun, it kills time if needed and a nice way to go outside.

Image result for anime baseball


Passing the Baton

Last rule on this segment is nominating other bloggers that I think should deserve this award. The only problem I have with this is that it’s asking me to nominate 12 people. A lot of the people I follow, I believe have been nominated before, so I can’t even get close to 12. But I have some bloggers in mind:

(also I hope they get notify about this, or else this’ll be really awkward lol)

Sam Brewer from The Tiny World of an Anime Amateur

An anime based blog revolving around reviewing anime, doing individual episode focuses on different shows and many other things such as talking about news, visual novels, manga, a lot of things.

I’ve especially enjoyed reading their thoughts and discussing the episodes of Tsuki ga Kirei, a romance drama airing right now, which is in fact going to end tomorrow 😦

Chris from Peach’s Almanac

A blog with many reviews of different anime, fascinating essays about different aspects of anime we don’t really notice and many more interesting posts by them. What I like about them is the amount of detail and thoroughness they put into writing a single blog post.

One of the posts that interested me the most was them discussing the shot composition of the anime film, Koe no Katachi. After reading their post, that made me realize how camera angles in movies are very important to convey the feelings of the characters and the atmosphere of the settings. You can read it here!

WeeaboOtaku

I only discovered them recently, but after looking around their blog, I’d like to say they have some nice content. It’s interesting to read their different reviews of anime, manga, Japanese dramas and inspired me a little bit to watch WWW.Working!! now. They even talked about their time studying abroad in Japan, which I thought was really cool.

One interesting post I saw by them was their experiences in a Japanese speech contest. It’s nice to see someone putting a lot of work and dedication into learning a language and it was very fascinating to read the funny speeches he wrote.


And that’s pretty much it. I enjoyed talking about myself and helping you get to know me better, I enjoyed talking about some of my fellow anime bloggers (which you definitely should check out all of them) and I enjoyed every minute typing this.

This was a fun experience and I hope the people I nominated will have fun with this as well.

Thanks for reading!!!! 😀

-al

4 thoughts on ““The Entertainer Blogger” Award Nomination

  1. Thanks for the nomination! I appreciate it, and it is super awesome to know that you want to watch http://www.Working!! because of my posts! I highly recommend it, as well as its “prequel,” Working!. Both are great shows. Also thanks for saying my speeches were funny, I’m glad someone other than myself can laugh at my silly jokes!

    In regards to why you started your blog, I had no idea you started it because of Amagami SS!!! I just finished it last month, but I had actually started it about 3 years ago and totally forgot about it. I really enjoyed it too, and am planning on watching the second season of it soon, and would be totally down to gush over it with you! I’m also going to check out your review of it now, to compare our favorite story arcs.

    Anyways, sorry for the long comment. Great post mate 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for nominating me al! (Nomination pinged!!) Its going to be really sad when Tsuki ga Kirei ends later – even if there’s a good ending.

    Games and sport combination – can’t imagine that combination comes up all that often on aniblogs!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

