Personal List of Favorite + Least Favorite Sequels/Spinoffs in Anime

So, this post was inspired by a fellow anime blogger of mine, Karandi from 100WordAnime. I was thinking of what to write up today and I remembered a post from them about their top five favorite sequels, so I thought that would be a nice topic to write about since I’m still waiting on upcoming shows to finally air. Thanks for the inspiration and go check out Karandi’s blog, it’s great!


Just for those wondering: I have not forgotten about this month’s 30 Day Anime Challenge I was supposed to do. It’s still in my head and the excu- I mean, reasons on why I didn’t start it (and won’t start it) is that I think I just went headfirst into the idea of watching an anime every single day for a month without fully thinking it through and set the bar too high for myself. It does sound really tough to do, taking around five or six hours of your time to watch a whole season every day, then having to make a review for it. I just wasn’t ready to do that for a whole month, even though it sounds really fun. So, I apologize for those who looked forward to that and I hope you understand.

But, that doesn’t mean I’ll never do that challenge. I still believe I can do it and I plan to take on that challenge in the future, possibly later this year. Thanks!


There’s a saying many people refer to when talking anything media-related: “Sequels are never as good as the original“.

In my opinion, that’s not fully true. For example, I liked Back to the Future: Part II WAY more than the first, and I thought that Toy Story 2 was better than the first one.

But the saying has some truth to it, most sequels aren’t as good as their original work of art. So when we look at anime, it’s no different. There are so many second seasons of shows, and some are as good or even better, some are bad. And here’s a list of my favorite good and bad anime sequels and spin-offs.


The Good

Amagami SS+ Plus (2012)

Image result for Amagami ss+

So I think you all know that I absolutely love this show.

The difference with the second season is that the length of every “arc” or “story” is cut in half, meaning that they only had two episodes instead of a full four to tell an after-story between each relationship between Junichi and all of the ladies.

But, AIC did a pretty damn good job with adding more story to what we experienced in the first season. There are still decent conflicts like the first season such as in Kaoru’s arc, the problem between her and Junichi was that they didn’t even know what kind of love relationship they were in, is it a more friendly one than romantic, that’s the question Kaoru had in her mind the whole time. Also, some side characters had more screen time and contributed well in their respective stories.

To sum it, it was on the same level of enjoyment that I had with the first season. If you liked the story and relationships in the first season, definitely watch the second to have more fun and see what happens after the first season’s stories.

MAL Pagehttps://myanimelist.net/anime/11235/Amagami_SS__Plus

Clannad: After Story (2008)

Image result for clannad after story

This one, in my opinion, is actually better than the first one.

The first season of Clannad was good, it had it’s nice story and characters. However, I believe the second season is WAY better than the first one, just because it’s more focused on Nagisa and Tomoya, and the story now on their life together now that they are dating. I love the relationship between them and they are one of my favorite couples in anime and that’s one of the reasons why I really like Clannad. Don’t get me wrong, I like the side characters’ stories in the first one like Kotomi’s and Fuuko’s, but I would’ve preferred the story to be mainly on the two main characters more. And After Story did that.

Another obvious factor on why I liked After Story better was the increased drama and emotional story. I see people saying that it was unrealistically sad and was forced, but I personally loved it and I’ll join the other people when they say that they cried while watching this show.

MAL Pagehttps://myanimelist.net/anime/4181/Clannad__After_Story

K-On!! (2010)

Image result for k-on

K-On! is K-On!. I don’t know what else to say.

This is one of the slice-of-life anime that is purely based on daily life shenanigans. They have a goal they want to get to, which is perform at Budokan, but I felt that didn’t matter in the end and it was just them having some good ol’ fun before the upperclass students graduate.

Slice-of-life sequels are basically the same thing as the first season, so there isn’t really much to say. I enjoyed it as much as the first season, it was still fun. I guess I can say that the knowledge of Yui, Mio, Ritsu and Mugi graduating and leaving their best buddy, Azusa, made the show more intriguing since I didn’t know what they were going to do at the end.

I’ll add the K-On Movie here cause that’s the better sequel. In the movie, they were building up to graduation and the upperclassmen wanted to do something for Azusa before they go off to college. I believe that was an amazing ending to a wonderful show and anyone who liked this series should definitely go and watch the movie.

Image result for k-on movie

MAL Pagehttps://myanimelist.net/anime/7791/K-On

KonoSuba 2 (2017)

Image result for konosuba

This is another one of the shows where it’s basically the same thing from the last season, but they still make it entertaining.

I actually thought that the second season of KonoSuba was funnier and included more goofy and dumb jokes, plus some side characters had more screen time. Other than that, it’s the same ol’ idiotic adventures these four have.

MAL Pagehttps://myanimelist.net/anime/32937/Kono_Subarashii_Sekai_ni_Shukufuku_wo_2

Love Live! School Idol Project 2nd Season (2014)

Image result for lovelive

I thought that this season was way better than the first because of the conflict of the third years graduating and this was their final chance to reach their goal of winning the competition, before the future of the group is decided.

There is definitely more drama, it’s way more emotional and everyone’s relationship and bond with each other was increased a lot more, and that’s why I really liked this season more. The episodes where an individual person has a conflict and the rest of the group end up helping them in the end was kind of the focus this time, which is usually seen in idol anime, such as The IDOLM@STER.

Lastly, I thought the songs they performed were way better than the ones in the first season. I mean, we got “Snow halation” this time!

MAL Pagehttps://myanimelist.net/anime/19111/Love_Live_School_Idol_Project_2nd_Season

**I added this next one like a few hours later cause I forgot to include it sorry lol**

Neon Genesis Evangelion: The End of Evangelion (1997)

Image result for end of eva

End of Evangelion was a really good sequel, or should I say, alternate ending. It gave us a way better ending than what we saw in the original show, the artwork and animation was superb and Hideaki Anno’s creativity and great storytelling was expressed in a confusing, yet amazing way. I have watched the first two rebuilds of Eva, but I have yet to watch the third, which I should soon.

MAL Pagehttps://myanimelist.net/anime/32/Neon_Genesis_Evangelion__The_End_of_Evangelion

Here are some honorable mentions, or in other words, shows that have sequels that are good but me describing how good they are will just be me repeating myself over and over:

  • Working!!
  • YuruYuri
  • Non Non Biyori Repeat

The Bad

Seiren (2017)

Image result for seiren

What a fucking disappointment this was.

If you didn’t know, this is a spin-off of Amagami SS, the show I talked about earlier. So when I heard that this show will be a thing and is related to my favorite romance comedy, I was really hyped up. I was prepared for the references and the same atmosphere like the original show. Except, it didn’t meet my expectations at all.

The problem with Seiren was the characters and the way they progressed through the story, I guess. Shouichi, the main character, was overall pretty dull and boring, while being a little cringy with the way he handled going into his first relationship.

Plus, some of the endings barely lead us to anywhere. At least in Amagami SS, we get to see what happens after Junichi gets the girl like how one arc fast-forwards to five years in the future to see if they are still together or not.

Lastly, it had some unnecessary “fan-service”, if you still want to call it that. They included some pretty perverted things to the point of it being disturbing to me.

Image result for seiren

Other than that, I thought the girls’ personalities and individual stories were decent.

I really only gave this a decent score on MyAnimeList just because this is related to Amagami. They tried to have the same enjoyment as the original and I REALLY wanted them to, but they failed to do so. If this doesn’t get a second season, I wouldn’t be surprised.

MAL Pagehttps://myanimelist.net/anime/33836/Seiren

Love Live! Sunshine!! (2016)

Image result for love live sunshine

IT HURTS TO SAY THIS BUT IT’S TRUE.

I had some problems with the spin-off of Love Live!. First off, I just got off the μ’s train and still had the amazingness of that group in my head. So, this new group, it would take a while for me to actually appreciate them.

The main problem with Sunshine!! is that it HEAVILY depended on the original group. What I mean is that it referenced μ’s sooooo much that I got fucking sick of them mentioning it. I went into this spin-off expecting little to no mention about the previous group and this new group doing their own thing, but I was presented with the opposite.

Even though the show even acknowledged that they shouldn’t be like μ’s and started being independent, it was so late into the show that they barely had time to redeem themselves and show us why they are different. It’s such a shame that it had to be this way, but you can’t turn back time.

Image result for love live sunshine

However, the group Aqours separately, I love them. The songs and the personalities of everyone are great and it took some time to actually appreciate them.

If you want to see my full thoughts about this particular problem with this anime, you can read my full post here.

All I got to say is that they better make the second season, which is coming out in the Fall, more enjoyable, have more interesting story and they better make Aqours express their original flair more.

MAL Pagehttps://myanimelist.net/anime/32526/Love_Live_Sunshine


Alright, that’s enough from me. Some of the things I said, I feel like they were vague and rushed but I hope that this was a nice read for some people, at least.

What’s your favorite sequel or spin-off of an anime? Leave it in the comments below!

Thanks for reading!!! 😀

-al

6 thoughts on “Personal List of Favorite + Least Favorite Sequels/Spinoffs in Anime

  1. Seiren was just… urgh. No comment.

    And LL Sunshine! No kidding! I do not remember ANYTHING about that show (and not a single characters’ names) except that it’s a spin off.

    I wish I can say how much the original story and the idol unit touched my moe heart. There’s a part of me that wishes Sunshine! second season saving the title…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think with LLS, I separate the actual storyline/anime from everything else. The story sucks, but once you experience everything else, like the funny seiyuu videos and the character personalities, you get to loving that particular group much more later on. It was kind of the same with μ’s for me, now that I look at it.

      I mean, you see me talk about Sunshine so much on this blog, but I don’t mention the anime and story at all, I just talk about the songs or the seiyuu or how much I love a certain character because those are better things about this group, in my opinion.

      And I really, really, really hope that the second season will get it’s shit together, or else the anime by itself will be disappointing.

      Thanks for reading!!

      Like

  2. Thanks for linking to my post and for sharing some of your favourite and least liked sequels. Great read and while I haven’t watched a lot on your list I am glad Clannad got a mention.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for reading! Yeah, I wouldn’t be surprised to see Clannad AS on most lists about favorite sequels. I believe it’s one of, if not, the most popular sequel in anime. 🙂

      Like

  3. Clannad is a great shout. The first season was one of the first shows I watched, and at the time it seemed great but looking back on it, most of the side characters are basically trope like carbon cut outs. After Story on the other hand is brilliant because it focuses on the two best characters from the first season – and damn that ending!

    Great post! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Now that you mention it, I can see the side characters having a lot of tropes in them. However, it was still nice to watch the more dark backstory to each person, but the drama wasn’t even close to what was shown in AS.

      And I’m on the same page with you for the ending. Even though there was a very happy ending, the tears were still about to flow. I think it’s that beautiful song’s fault haha

      Thanks for reading! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

