Seiyuu Spotlight! – Aki Toyosaki

I’m starting to think about making a separate section about praising musicians involved with anime because I’ve only talked about like two seiyuu who just voice act out of the six total, including this one. 😛

Welcome to Seiyuu Spotlight!, an unscheduled segment on the Alfredeo Blog where I talk and praise different voice actors and actresses in the anime industry. I believe this segment can also help you learn about new seiyuu and possibly pick out your next anime to watch!


At first, I never really did this, but recently I’ve been into researching, if that’s a good word for it, the different voice actors and actresses after or while watching a show. It’s interesting to see what else the voice of your favorite character in a certain show has worked on.

Image result for seiyuu chart daisuke ono

Thanks to Love Live!, I got more into seiyuu and watching them in real life, acting as their characters and just having fun in general. It’s nice to watch a different side of anime.

When I first got into anime, the only seiyuu I followed a little was Aki Toyosaki, the now 30-year-old singer and voice actress in various anime.

Image result for aki toyosaki

Fun facts about Aki:

  • won the Best Rookie Actress at the 4th Seiyu Awards in 2010
  • 1/4 of Sphere, a Japanese pop idol group including Haruka Tomatsu, Ayahi Takagaki and Minako Kotobuki (that’s Mugi!)
  • actually pretty tall, she’s 5’7″ (170 cm)
  • apparently enjoys playing the video game series, Grand Theft Auto… can’t say I expected that but that’s cool!
  • mainly a musician; released fifteen solo singles and three albums

Her most popular anime role is, the one and only Yui Hirasawa from the popular slice-of life K-On!, and it must be cool to think, “I voiced a main character in one of the most popular anime shows ever”.

Image result for aki toyosaki yui

She’s been in a lot of other anime, of course. Just to name a few, she’s Chiyuri Kurashima from Accel World, Yunyun from KonoSubaKofuku from NoragamiIori Nagase from Kokoro ConnectMegumi Chihaya from Servant x ServantMomo Belia Deviluke from To LOVE-Ru DarknessKazari Uihara from Toaru Kagaku no Railgun and Chitose Ikeda from YuruYuri.

 

When it comes to her voice, she usually (and she even said so) likes to take roles that are more silly and happy, or in other terms, similar to Yui. As a matter of fact, when you hear her regular voice, it’s basically how Yui sounds.

The only musical talent I heard from her was from K-On! and her singing was great in that show. But only recently, I’ve been listening to her with her solo career, and god damn, she can sing well. One of my favorites has to be “Letter Writer” and you can hear it here!

If you haven’t heard Aki singing as Yui in K-On!, let me be the one to introduce you to the amazingness:

I didn’t know if I should include this, but like most celebrities, she got a lot of hate for absolutely no reason. I won’t go into detail with this because that’s not the point of this segment, but for example, the internet was pretty harsh when she put out a cover of the famous Beatles song, “Hey Jude” and was even treated horribly by her own fans after them seeing photos of her being with a guy.

Either way, Aki Toyosaki has a special place in my heart, being probably the first seiyuu I liked. She’s still in the voice acting industry (she’s Gunpuku no Himegimi from Re:CREATORS) and I hope she gets more cool roles in the future!

Image result for aki toyosaki anime

MyAnimeList Pagehttps://myanimelist.net/people/599/Aki_Toyosaki

Thanks for reading!!!

Also, I’ll see you guys tomorrow for the start of Katawa Shoujo week. 🙂

-al

Leave a Reply

